Quick Links

Rushall CE VA School

The Early Years Foundation Stage

There are seven main areas within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum and they cover the learning and development that shape the educational system in school for children at this exciting and crucial stage of their education. All seven areas are inter-connected and vital to ignite a child's curiosity and enthusiasm to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The seven areas are: communication and language, physical development, personal, social and emotional development, literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive arts and design. More information will be provided on these areas at our induction evening and throughout the school year. You can search 'Development Matters' on the Government website to find out more. In addition to the above areas,  we follow the Little Wandle phonics scheme and phonics lessons are delivered daily.

At Rushall we understand the importance of learning through play, we deliver continuous provision and insist on purposeful play which we provide through a mixture of adult-led and child-led activities. We work within the seven areas of effective pedagogy, through Development Matters and our school learning pathway. We use assessment to evaluate the children's understanding and learning, we support them with self-regulation and how to develop strong working partnerships with their peers.

We foster the belief that every child has the ability to become an effective learner and demonstrate characteristics such as critical thinking, problem solving, learning actively and promoting independence within our learning environment. We are a family-orientated school and we strive to know our children and families extremely well, ensuring we have a collaborative approach to supporting them along their learning journey.




Welcome Pack

Welcome to Bloom Class